Mayor & Council

Council Group Photo
From left to right:  Mayor Pro Tem Kevin Trautner, Councilmember Lauri Lankford, Mayor Bob Higley, Councilmember Ed Sobash, and Councilmember John Barnes

Regular Meetings

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • The 2nd and 4th Mondays of every month
  • Municipal Building
    3800 University Boulevard
    West University Place, TX 77005

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Bob Higley, Mayor
  • John P. Barnes, Council Member
  • Lauri Lankford, Council Member
  • Ed Sobash, Council Member
  • Kevin Trautner, Council Member

About the Council

The City Council consists of the Mayor and four Council Members. West University Place is among the few cities with a truly citizen legislature. The City Council is elected on a non-partisan basis. Elections are held the 2nd Saturday in May of odd numbered years and members serve a term of two years. Members can't serve for more than 2 successive terms in each office.

Council Authority

The City Council has the authority to:
  • Adopt budgets
  • Appoint the following positions:
    • City Attorney
    • City Manager
    • City Secretary
    • City Municipal Court Judges
    • Prosecutors
  • Enact legislation
  • Establish policies

More Information

For more information regarding the West University Place City Council, please contact the City Secretary at 713-662-5813. You can also view Previous City Councils (PDF).